You are here

About Us

The UL Lafayette Police Department provides for the peace, safety, and security of persons and facilities affiliated with the UL Lafayette campus. This includes its respectively owned, controlled, or occupied properties. Employing approximately 40 officers, the UL Lafayette Police Department maintains an environment to facilitate the University's mission of research, education, and public service. The police department is conveniently located on Hebrard Boulevard in Bittle Hall and operates 24 hours every day throughout the entire year. The UL Lafayette Police Department maintains a close working relationship with other area law enforcement agencies, other criminal justice components, and all university administrative departments.

UL Lafayette Police officers are sworn peace officers of the state of Louisiana. The police powers derive from the Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title17 Section 1805(A), granting full police authority to include the carrying of concealed weapons, effecting of arrests on and off campus and investigation of campus related crimes to include the entire state of Louisiana. The officers are commissioned by the state of Louisiana upon completion of a Peace Officer Standards and Training Academy. Successful completion of this police academy requires the attendance of 420 hours of basic law enforcement training. Officers also participate in advanced law enforcement training sessions encompassing particular branches of policing.